Donald Murray Prize 2022

Due to complications from the COVID-19 pandemic, the Donald Murray Prize for creative nonfiction is on hiatus. It is projected to return for 2022.

Please check back early October 2021 for further information.

The Donald Murray Prize is hosted by the Creative Nonfiction Standing Group of the Conference on College Composition and Communication. The prize is awarded annually to the best work of creative nonfiction on the subject of language, writing, teaching, or the teaching of writing. We seek submissions from current and former post-secondary teachers of writing, including graduate students.

This prize was first established at CCCC in 2002 in honor of Donald Murray, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, professor, and author of numerous books and influential articles on writing and the teaching of writing.

Entries will be judged by members of the CNF Standing Group, the editors of Writing on the Edge, and a specially selected final judge.


Submissions Guidelines:

Length Limit: 8,000 words maximum (2500–4500 preferred)
Entry Fee: None
Projected Deadline: November 1, 2021.

Entries may not have been previously published in any form, electronically or in print, including blog posts.

Submit entries in PDF or Microsoft Word to the WOE online submissions system. Include "Donald Murray Prize Submission" in the space for abstracts.